Two Wolves

Image

 

There is an old story about a cherokee man who told his grandson, “My son, there is a battle between two wolves inside us all. One is Evil. It is anger, jealousy, greed, resentment, inferiority, lies, and ego. The other is Good. It is joy, peace, love, hope, humility, kindness, empathy, and truth.”

The boy thought about it, and asked, “Grandfather, which wolf wins?”

The old man quietly replied, “The one you feed.”

This reminds me of our spiritual lives as the Bible says in Matthew 4:4 “It is written, man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God.” In order to live on the promises of God we have to know the promises of God. We have to have an intimate relationship with Him in order to know Him. Have you ever wished you were closer to God? The answer is simple in thought anyway not so much in actions. In order to be closer to God you have to feed your mind and soul on His word. And when you do this God makes a promise to you.

Hebrews 10:16-18 ““This is the covenant I will make with them after that time, says the Lord. I will put my laws in their hearts, and I will write them on their minds.”Then he adds “Their sins and lawless acts I will remember no more. And where these have been forgiven, sacrifice for sin is no longer necessary.”

How great is it that if you make a conscience effort to draw close to God, then He will make a promise to draw close to you and remember your sins no more! This also reminds me of the samaritan woman at the well, when Jesus tells her that he “has living water to give that she will thirst no more and have eternal life.” John 4:14. It is fascinating to me that if you read a little further in John 4, to verse 31, there the disciples urge him to eat, and Jesus refuses saying, “No, I have food you do not know about.” and verse 34 “My nourishment comes from doing the will of God, who sent me and from finishing his work.”

So I ask you today, where are you finding your nourishment? Is it from doing the will of God, is it in continuous prayer? I would love to hear your thoughts on which wolf you are feeding…

http://seg.sharethis.com/getSegment.php?purl=http%3A%2F%2Fwordpress.com%2F%23post&jsref=&rnd=1328032795374

wordpress stats plugin

Leave a Reply

