Forgetful God

Scientists say that Elephants have remarkable memory. They have the ability to recognize over 200 different individuals. I like to think that I have a pretty good memory at least in some areas. I can forget names, where I put my keys, when I last bathed. What is crazy though is I have absolutely no problem remembering when someone has hurt me, disappointed me, lied to me, broken my trust. It becomes very difficult to restore that relationship. Forgive? Maybe. Forget? Impossible.

“And their sins and iniquities will I remember no more.” Hebrews 10:17

God tells us over and over again that he forgives and forgets. That we are forgiven because he sent His son Jesus Christ to pay the penalty for our sins. Once we accept Christ as our savior, there is no reason for God to remember all of our faults, wrongs, sins because His son has already forgiven us. What’s even more incredible is that He not only forgets them, He treats us as someone who never sinned in the first place. All of our sins in the past and present, completely, unequivocally forgotten. So unlike that elephant that remembers every little thing, let us be thankful that our God in heaven is “forgetful”.

wordpress stats plugin

One thought on “Forgetful God

Leave a Reply

