Trapped

Have you ever felt trapped in your failures? Felt like you just can’t do anything right? You feel like a dissapointment to yourself, family, and God. You just keep on returning to your failures, letting them define your life and all you want is to get out. Your not the only one, the apostle Paul dealt with it also! He wanted to do right but he couldnt:

“The law is good then. The trouble is not with the law, but with ME, because i am sold into slavery with SIN being the master. I dont understand myself at all, for i really want to do what is right, but i dont do it. Instead, I do the very thing i hate. I know perfectly well that what i am doing is wrong and my bad conscience shows that i agree that the law is good. But i cant help myself, because it is sin inside me that makes me do these evil things. I know that i am rotten through and through so far as my old sinful nature is concerned. No, matter which way i turn i cant make myself do right. I want to, but i cant! When i wanna do good, i wont, and when i try to not do wrong i do it anyway. But if i am doing what i dont want to do, i am not really the one doing it, the sin within me is doing it. It seems to be a fact of life that when i want to do what is right, i inevitably do what is wrong. I love God’s law with all my heart but there is another law at work within me that is at war with my Mind. This law wins the fight and makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me. Oh what a miserable person i am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin? Thank God! The ANSWER is in Jesus Christ our Lord. So you see how it is: In my mind i really want to obey God’s law but because of my sinful nature i am a slave to sin.” Romans 7:14-25

So if you are dealing with this cycle where all you want is to do good but you keep on doing wrong just remember that this does not define you. This is not because you are a wretched human being, one God is incapable of loving. This is your sinful nature that you are a slave to but by seeking God and earnestly searching after your savior you can be set free.The best part is the verse that follows..Romans 8:1-2 “So now there is no condemnation for those who belong to Christ Jesus. For the power of the life-giving spirit has freed YOU!!!”

Watch your thoughts; they become words.
Watch your words; they become actions.
Watch your actions; they become habits.
Watch your habits; they become character.
Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.
–Frank Outlaw

Leave a Reply

